Cosmic kid in full costume dress

 

He was just blinded by the light
Cut loose like a deuce another runner in the night
Blinded by the light
Mama always told me not to look into the sights of the sun
Oh but mama that’s where the fun is

Springsteen, Blinded by the Light

 

From 1975 to 1992, Australia had its own national weekly music mag. Juke Magazine was based in Melbourne and was an institution among music lovers and musicians alike. The gig guide alone made it a must read, but the articles were penned by some of Australia’s best rock journalists and kept serious followers of the band scene informed about news regarding both local and overseas acts.

 

20160403_163913
Can’t believe I actually still had these.

 

In 1990 I had the good fortune to become a cartoonist for the magazine producing a series called The Lean Years.

 

20160403_164204
Sorry about the quality, took these with my phone.

Heavily influenced by the Hernandez Brothers’ comic Love and Rockets (with a touch of Judge Dredd artist Mike McMahon* thrown in for good measure), the title referred to those years in a young band’s early life, also known as the pay to play years, when they must pay their dues in dive pubs and clubs trying to build an audience and reputation. It was subject matter very close to my heart as I was living that very life at the time.

 

Lean Years 14 001a.jpg

 

It was a gruelling schedule producing a weekly strip (something I’d had absolutely no experience of up until then), but I was young and hungry and so somehow managed to keep it going until band obligations forced me to stop. Sadly, the climate in the local publishing scene began to change over the following years and in ’92 Juke ceased publication.

 

Lean years 12 001a.jpg

 

band
An early concept sketch

 

guy

girl

 

 

 

I came upon my files whilst looking for something completely unrelated today and thought I’d share this strange little chapter of my life before Jersey girl. I will be digitising the original artwork over the next few weeks and may post them here just for the hell of it.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

*Obviously nowhere near as good as either.

 

 

All images used are my own.

 

©1990 ©2016

5 thoughts on “Cosmic kid in full costume dress

  1. That was quite the blast from Springsteen’s past! Good hearing it again!
    Very interesting to the see the magazines they had over there. I took a short swim in the pool of music publications. In the early 80s I put out a single issue of my own magazine: Front Row Center. It was a great learning experience. Not to mention I got to see lots of shows during that time! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Interesting. One of the cool things about revealing your life publicly like this is that it sometimes encourages others to reveal a little about themselves as well.
      That sounds like a fascinating time in yours.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. It was fun! It came up purely out of wanting to get into a show that was sold out, and we managed to actually get in that way, and the idea took hold for doing the magazine, and I got some friends to write articles, and my partner in ‘crime’ was a photographer, and all manner of fun evolved! I was working on four psychiatric wards at a city hospital at the time, as an occupational therapist. Eventually I quit the hospital to work on the magazine full time.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

