Epic…

 

… fail

 

I cannot capture it

The way it truly feels

The words exist but

I cannot master them

 

It is a thought-form

A symbol

Pure sensation

All at once

 

How can a poet of such limited skills

Ever hope to encapsulate

In even the tiniest of ways

The all of the thing?

 

Metaphor won’t do

Innuendo demeans us all

And symbolism demands a far, far surer hand than mine

-No

 

It is hopeless

Though I feel it with the intensity of iron in the forge

These embered coals

Are too hot for my third-rate poetry to hold

 

I step away from the page

Humbled by that thing which I adore the most

Perhaps tomorrow

I’ll corner my prey

 

Perhaps not.

 

 

 

 

 

©2016

4 thoughts on “Epic…

  1. This is how I feel while writing my poetries too but in the end I say to myself, oh well I have to start somewhere if I want to become better. You did a really great job here! – Michelle

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

