Strange fruit

 

Distractions

 

I‘m going to write about this avocado

How ripe it is, how ready

I chose it especially from the many on offer

Caressing it gently

Not squeezing too hard

Just tweaking the cap

Tells you all you need to know

I carried it with care

Not that I really mind the bruises

Still, if they can be avoided…

The dimpled skin felt good against my palm as I unpacked it

Enjoying its weight in my hand

There’s a pleasing density to this fruit I appreciate

Immensely

When I finally eat it

I will take my time

Enjoy the texture

The unique flavor

Let’s be perfectly clear

I’m talking about this avocado here

I’m writing about an avocado

To keep myself from writing about her.

 

Don’t worry no image for this one.

©2016

 

 

6 thoughts on “Strange fruit

Leave a Reply

