The church

 

Take me to church
I’ll worship like a dog at the shrine of your lies
I’ll tell you my sins and you can sharpen your knife
Offer me that deathless death
Good God, let me give you my life

Hozier, Take me to church

In recent times I’ve had the opportunity to visit two cathedrals, St Patrick’s in New York (opened 1878) and St Patrick’s in Melbourne (opened 1897). Though these two magnificent buildings share a name they are remarkably different in many ways.

I was struck by how light the cathedral in New York is – it actually looks like it might float away – as compared to its namesake in Melbourne. St Patrick’s here is a dark edifice built like some medieval fortress. The local bluestone from which most of the cathedral is constructed lends it a very dark and forbidding aspect quite unlike its American sister.

To me, Melbourne’s St Patrick’s is very male and New York’s very female. Of the two, I must admit I prefer the latter.

DSC_3511.JPG

DSC_4792.JPG

DSC_3515.JPG

DSC_4810.JPG

DSC_3517.JPG

DSC_4805.JPG

DSC_3522.JPG

DSC_4822a.jpg

DSC_3527.JPG

DSC_4839.JPG

DSC_3532.JPG

DSC_4843.JPG

DSC_3531.JPG

DSC_4855.JPG

DSC_3534a.jpg

DSC_4837.JPG

All images are my own.

©2016

3 thoughts on “The church

Leave a Reply

