Nothing that a po’ boy can do

 

DSC_4468.JPG

 

A hundred and six degrees

 

This is a fever

With an extremely limited circle of contagion

Nevertheless, the strain is potent

It has seized my mind

My body

My heart

It makes me give in

To every desire

And derides my token efforts

to resist

Making me do things I’d never dreamed

But always hoped

It has induced a peculiar form of

Tunnel vision

There’s only one thing I can see clearly now

Through the haze

Of my delirium

Just one face

One body

One heart

Everything else is the shadow of a ghost

This is a fever

 

You can keep your remedy.

 

 

 

 

Words and image are my own.

©2016

 

 

All comments are most welcome.

 

 

4 thoughts on “Nothing that a po’ boy can do

Leave a Reply

