Crazy rocker

 

No great loss

 

Is there anything worth losing more than

Your mind?

It tricks and betrays

Prevaricates and dithers

When you really need it

It’s unavoidably delayed

When you want to make an impression

Suddenly it’s a ten-year-old in a china shop

It comes up with all the cleverest things to say

The very next day

And when you’re called upon to be brave

Your helpful mind lists all the various ways

That you could die

Horribly and (subset) humiliatingly

So I think I’ll lose my mind today

Give it the slip when it’s thinking about my stomach

I’m pretty sure I’ll be okay

I can try a life without self-inflicted anxiety for a bit

And if the separation works out

Maybe I’ll start seeing other minds

Now there’s a thought.

 

 

 

©2016

Leave a Reply

