The fear

 

 

Don’t drown

 

Did I tell you I’m afraid of the ocean?

The rips that can snatch you out beyond your capabilities

Pounding waves that will dash your hopes against

Hard rocky reality

Predators patrolling patiently below the surface

Yes, I – raised at the beach from a child –

Am fearful of the big blue

And the deep, deep green

Hell, even the sand irritates and unsettles me

Normandy was a beach

Troy too

Neither was a picnic

I’m aware that the ocean symbolizes deep emotion

I’ve read Jung

I know my fear is about what lies within

That the thing I’m really afraid might drown me

Has nothing to do with water

But still, when I stand on the edge of the ocean

I see death waiting.

 

 

©2016

Leave a Reply

