Trouble

 

 

Insomniac

 

 

The world slides by

Through exhaustion’s haze

Gritty eyes barely register the shifting skyline

Did I sleep at all last night?

If so, I dreamt I was awake

Every tiny sound in the dark

Became my focus

Only to be replaced by the next in

The bump-tink chorus

Awake in the small hours is a little death

And 3 am knows all my secrets

Fortunately 7 am is a forgetful fool

 

I will sleep walk now through another day

And live in dread of the coming night

Where I may live it all again

Or not

Who can say?

 

 

 

©2016

 

 

Leave a Reply

