92. Come what may

 

I’m writing these words whilst sitting at the dining room table in Jersey girl’s house. Yes, I have arrived in New Jersey. The long and often arduous process which got us both to this point is now largely – though, not yet completely – behind us.

I simply cannot express the emotions involved in typing the paragraph above. We have waited so long for those words to be true and not just some expression of hope. And now, at last, they are true – I am here.

I have left job, family, and home. I have travelled with all I have to my name contained in just four very heavy bags and landed safely – if somewhat dazed –Β  into my new country.

Over the last couple of weeks in Melbourne I found out exactly how loved I was by friends and family. This made my last days in Australia bittersweet as I realised just how much I would miss certain folk.

I also found out exactly who amongst my friends were actually mere acquaintances in disguise. That too was a valuable lesson.

So now I am home. I sit here in this pretty house surrounded by the last snows of the season a very large dog curled at my feet. The day is cold but bright and the house lays silent. I have walked the youngest to school and waved Jersey girl off to work. The place is mine for the next few hours. I’ll probably spend several of those hours sleeping, as jetlag is still weighing on my eyelids.

Yesterday we loaded the kids into the car and drove over to the lake. It’s one of our favourite spots and I wanted to see (and photograph) the valley under snow before it was all gone.

IMG_0005

IMG_0006

IMG_0013

IMG_0022

IMG_0012

IMG_0030

IMG_0028

IMG_0033

IMG_0037

IMG_0041

IMG_0045a

IMG_0047

As expected, the place was magical and the perfect setting for this first day of our new life as a family.

It has been a long, insanity-inducing journey which has led up to this moment. There were times both of us thought it was never going to happen but our faith in each other kept the madness at bay – well, mostly.

Now, all our days together are stretched out before us. We have absolutely no idea what comes next. All we can say for certain is that, come what may, we will face it together.

Words and images are my own.

Β©2017

29 thoughts on “92. Come what may

  1. Well, let me be the first to congratulate you. Believe it or not, I said to my wife the following yesterday. “You know that Australian guy I mentioned to you was moving to Jersey? I bet he’s here now.” I guessed this because your posts betrayed the imminence of said move and you had pretty much gone into radio silence on your posts. So, nailed it! Good luck to you both. In the meantime, here’s some James Brown for you:

    Liked by 1 person

      1. I was just thinking of you the other day, wondering if you had made the journey. It’s coming up on my husbands 2 year mark. We will begin in 2 months to finish the last of his paperwork to release him from his conditional green card. After that, we’re good for 10 years. The process can be very draining and it’s not for the faint of heart. If you guys ever travel to Northeast Tennessee there’s another Aussie from Melbourne and we’ll be more than happy to show you these beautiful mountains.

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Thank you, I hear Tennessee is beautiful indeed. You never know, we may pass that way sometime.
        The red tape does seem endless. All you can do is keep pushing forward I suppose.
        Thanks again for the kind words.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

